Skip to content

How to Avoid Buying a New Fridge

July 29, 2011

I really have nothing against white appliances, in fact, I really like my white stove and dishwasher (well, when it wasn’t broken). I do, however, hold a grudge against dirty white appliances that look all dingy next to newly painted, bright white cabinets.

Like my fridge.

Note: I took the door handles off before taking this picture.

Being newly house-poor at the time, buying a new fridge was not an option. Well, I could buy one, but I wouldn’t have been able to afford the food to put in it. So, that made the choice to keep the current fridge. I decided to paint it with chalkboard paint.

 First I removed the handles, then I sanded it, scrubbed it down with TSP, and applied three coats of paint. Maybe an hour, all told, and I had this:
 

So green! So very green!

After painting, I “cured” the surface by scrubbing a piece of chalk lengthwise against the paint, then I wiped all the chalk off.
 
 

 Huzzah! Now I have a cool looking fridge and money enough to keep food in it.

From → Kitchen

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

